Shortlists announced daily


The Union Awards are happening, and you are all invited!

It is with a heavy heart that we had to cancel our 2020 Union Awards which were due to be held at Wycombe Town Hall on Wednesday 13 May. Clearly circumstances are beyond our control and the safety of our students, staff and friends of the Union comes first.

We have some good news though. Despite the fact we can’t come together to celebrate in person we are holding this year’s awards virtually, on Thursday 28 May and we are encouraging everyone to dress up and enjoy the awards from the comfort of your own homes. Why not invite your family and open a bottle of bubbly?

Starting on Tuesday 5 May we will be releasing two of the award shortlists each day, one in the morning and one at the end of the day, as we look to build up to the big night itself.


Tuesday 5

Sport for Fun Ambassador of the Year

Charlie Batterbee

Tamsin Grainger

Alex Ditchburn

Karlo Pigac


Membership Services Staff Member of the Year

Mark West

Anita Pascoe

Lisa Connell

Scarlett Thomas


Wednesday 6

Commercial Services Student Member of the Year

Zac Saunderson

Tyler-Louise Griffiths

Courtney Gray

Jack Williams


Student Rep of the Year

Lisa Connell

Greg King

Michelle Ginnane

Steph Webb


Thursday 7

Professional Service Employee Partner of the Year

Heather Boyd-Savidge

Jean Whitehouse

Emma Binnie

John Ide


RAG Fundraiser of the Year

Georgia Miller

Jade Mather

Women's Netball

BNU Dance


Friday 8

Academic Staff Partner of the Year

Melanie Hayward

Phill Hoddinott

Nic Fryer

Carol Rogers


Volunteer of the Year

Tim Garner

Tom Featherstone

Josh Creber

Millie Richmond


Monday 11

Media Contributor of the Year

Zuzanna Majewska

Abby Gray

Tom Featherstone

Alex Ditchburn


Campaigner of the Year

Kia Wing

Lisa Connell

Megan Bullock

Darren Hannay


Tuesday 12

Committee Member of the Year

Amy Leverton

Tomek Siemieniuch

Tamsin Grainger

Jordan Penning


Society of the Year

Snowsoc Society

Green Society

Acapella Society

Aviation Society


Wednesday 13

Student Leadership Award

Karlo Pigac

Natasha Neal

Kia Wing

Jordan Penning


Thursday 14 

Excellence in Learning and Teaching Awards


Excellence and Innovation in Learning and Teaching Practice

Lorna Dean Gibbs

Allison Savoy

Sarah Thirtle

Stan Henshaw


Excellence and Innovation in Student Learning Support

Poppy McKinnon-Evans

Suzanne Doria

Julia Robertson

Barbara Nicholls


Excellence in Demonstrating Academic Leadership

Phill Hoddinott

Christopher Johnston

Paul Fowler

Poppy McKinnon-Evans


A full programme for the Awards will be available in advance of the night, providing a detailed running order and information about all of this year’s nominees.

We look forward to being able to recognise the full scale of student and staff achievement, even during such abnormal circumstances.

In particular we would like to thank our sponsors, ITC Concepts, Print and Digital Associates, Bromarpeak and RockBox who have continued to support the Awards despite the fact that the current crisis is impacting their organisations. Your support means a great deal to our members. We will continue to support your businesses through the rest of 2020 and beyond and we encourage all of our students to do the same.