Union Awards 2022 Winners

On Thursday 19 May, we held our thirteenth annual Union Awards, including the Excellence in Learning and Teaching awards - in person for the first time since 2019.

Over the last 12 months, we have seen our members and University staff go above and beyond to support their peers and give their time freely for the betterment of the student experience, which makes the BNU community so unique. We hope you all enjoyed the evening, and congratulations to our winners:


Excellence in Learning and Teaching Awards

Excellence and Innovation in Student Learning Support

Suzannah Bridge

Demonstrating Excellence in Academic Leadership

Dearbhla Gallagher

Excellence and Innovation in Learning and Teaching Practice

Rafid Al-Khannak


Union Awards

RAG Charity Fundraiser of the Year

Charlie Hickey

Student Rep of the Year

Francesca Toms

Academic Staff Partner of the Year

Carol Rogers

Society Committee Member of the Year

Jess Bradbury

Volunteer of the Year

Ciaran Bond

Media Contributor of the Year

Aaron Dartnell

Society of the Year

Musical Theatre 

Commercial Services Student Staff Member of the Year

Dennis Smith

Membership Services Staff Member

Amy Pile

Professional Service Employee Partner of the Year

Jill Austen

Campaigner of the Year

Brandon Tester

Student Leadership Award

Vytautas Kravcenka

Union Fellowship

Lisa Connell 

Honorary Life Membership

Jamie Alexander


Congratulations once again to all of this year's winners!