Union Awards winners

On Thursday 17 May the Students’ Union held its ninth annual Union Awards. The awards evening provides the opportunity to recognise the positive contribution made by both students and staff throughout the course of the last academic year. The event also features the Excellence in Learning and Teaching Awards. 

The evening was another great success and we’d once again like to congratulate every University staff member that was nominated for an award. It really is an honour to be recognised by your students, peers and colleagues for all of your hard work during the academic year. 

Additionally, congratulations once again to all the winners from this year’s Union Awards. The winners are as follows:


Excellence in Learning and Teaching Awards

Excellence in Innovation and Student Learning Support
Sam Guest

Demonstrating Excellence in Academic Leadership
Professor Nick Braisby

Excellence and Innovation in Learning and Teaching Practice
Sharon Edwards


Union Awards

Campaigner of the Year
Raghida Halaoui

Student Rep of the Year
Sam Ogungbe

RAG Fundraiser of the Year
Georgia Nosal

Professional Service Employee of the Year
Alastair Jack

Academic Staff Partner of the Year
Lynn Viatge

Sport for Fun Ambassador of the Year
Joshua Kidby

Volunteer of the Year
Conor Wysner

Media Contributor of the Year
Sean Wright

Society Committee Member of the Year
Molly-Jane Dane 

Society of the Year
Acapella Society

Membership Services Student Staff Member of the Year
Beata Napora

Commercial Services Student Staff Member of the Year
Beth Trevis

Student Leadership Award
Charlie Cotton

Union Fellowship Award
Rhona Noel

Honorary Life Membership
Noel Cornford

We look forward to celebrating another fantastic event with everyone at next year’s awards.