It's time to reveal the shortlist...


As another academic year starts to come to an end, we're getting excited to host our annual Union Awards night. For the first time since 2019, we will be holding this event in person, and we're very excited to welcome you back for an exciting evening of recognition.

Today we can announce the shortlist for Union Awards and the Excellence in Learning and Teaching (ELT) Awards. We received some wonderful nominations this year, so a huge congratulations to those who have been shortlisted.

Excellence and Innovation in Student Learning Support

Jade Laver

Sarah Ireland

Suzannah Bridge

Paul Maloret


Demonstrating Excellence in Academic Leadership

Dearbhla Gallagher

Geeta Lamichhane

Pia Carnegie

Sarah Stringfellow


Excellence and Innovation in Learning and Teaching Practice

Alexandra Balfour

Gavin Butler

Rafid Al-Khannak

Suzanne Doria


Society Committee Member of the Year

Amy Pile

Charlotte Leighton-Woods

Jess Bradbury

Vytautas Kravcenka


RAG Charity Fundraiser of the Year

BNU Dance

Charlie Hickey

Drag for RAG: Nursing and LGBTQ+

Jess Bradbury


Volunteer of the Year

Ciaran Bond

Claire Sessions

Jess Bradbury

Maya Jones


Media Contributor of the Year

Aaron Dartnell

Jessica Clark

Jim Trotman

Phoebe Wilkinson


Society of the Year

Boxing Society

Gaming Society

Musical Theatre Society

Nursing Society


Professional Service Employee Partner of the Year 

Anne-Marie Thomson

Claire O'Callaghan

Daniel Gerrish

Jill Austen


Academic Staff Partner of the Year 

Carol Rogers

Matthew Smith

Paul Morgan

Sara Eaglesfield


Campaigner of the Year

Brandon Tester

Charlie Hickey

Claire Sessions 

Maya Jones


Student Rep of the Year 

Eleanor Lee

Francesca Toms

Ismail Hussain

Peter Ashiagbor


Membership Services Student Staff Member of the Year

Amy Pile

Eloise Maslin

Iuliana Strosecu

Jody Bates


Commercial Services Student Staff Member of the Year

Dennis Smith

Elliott West

Emily Adkinson

Shelby Swafford


Student Leadership Award

Amy Pile

Francesca Toms

Kate Gordon

Vytautas Kravcenka

We hope you're as proud as we are of all the hard work you've put in over the past year and we can't wait to celebrate with you on the night.