Union Awards 2020

You are here:

The Union Awards are on Wednesday 13 May 2020

Find out everything you need to know about the Eleventh Annual Union Awards in the programme below.

Download programme (1.5MB)


The annual Union Awards is a chance for us to formally recognise the achievements of our active members and staff who have inspired us all. 



This survey is no longer available.


The criteria


In order to make the shortlist, nominees for these awards must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  1. Through their work have had a demonstrable impact on the student experience of their peers.
  2. Have enhanced the reputation of the Students’ Union through their commitment, dedication and professionalism.
  3. Enabled the Students’ Union to achieve or exceed one of more of its strategic objectives.
  4. Demonstrated innovation in extending the range of opportunities and services available through the Students’ Union.
  5. Created positive change within the Students’ Union, University or local community.


The judging panel


Shortlisting for all of the categories awarded at the event is conducted by the Union Awards Panel, which is made up of:

TBC, Bucks Students’ Union, Student Trustee

TBC, Bucks Students’ Union, External Trustee

Tao Warburton, President, Bucks Students’ Union

Christina Demetriou, Vice President Student Involvement, Bucks Students’ Union

Brooke Pilbeam, Vice President Education and Welfare, Bucks Students’ Union

Tristan Tipping, Chief Executive Officer, Bucks Students’ Union

Matthew Kitching, Membership Services Manager, Bucks Students’ Union

In cases where a member of the judging panel is shortlisted for an award, the judge will be asked to leave the room so all candidates can be considered fairly.




Society Committee Member of the Year

RAG Charity Fundraiser of the Year proudly supported by ITC Concepts

Sport for Fun Ambassador of the Year

Volunteer of the Year

Media Contributor of the Year proudly supported by Print and Digital Associates

Society of the Year

Professional Service Employee Partner of the Year proudly supported by Bucks New University

Academic Staff Partner of the Year proudly supported by Bucks New University

Campaigner of the Year

Student Rep of the Year proudly supported by Bromarpeak

Membership Services Student Staff Member of the Year

Commercial Services Student Staff Member of the Year proudly supported by RockBox

Student Leadership Award

Union Fellowship

Honorary Life Membership


Union Fellowship


Union Fellowship is an award which the Sabbatical Officers of the Students’ Union shall bestow on an annual basis, to a member of the student or graduate community of Buckinghamshire New University. The recipient must have displayed an outstanding degree of commitment, initiative and positive impact over a minimum of three years, during their life at the University.  This award is the pinnacle of our recognition of student or alumni contribution.

There will be a maximum of one winner per academic year unless there are exceptional circumstances, their name shall be displayed on honours boards within the Students’ Union venue.

2010 - Jill Kittle

2011 - Jen Yarrow

2012 - Adam Pears

2013 - Guy Humphrey

2013 - Daisy May Bodewes

2013 - Lauren Troiano

2014 - Tom Badger

2015 - Adam Bartlett

2016 - Mark Sweeney

2017 - Ben Parmar

2018 - Rhona Noel

2019 - Tom Mepham

2019 - Megan Staples


Honorary Life Membership


Honorary Life membership will be bestowed to those individuals who have dedicated a minimum of five years exceptional contribution, or service, to the furtherance of our Students’ Union. The names of Honorary Life members will be displayed on honours boards within the Students’ Union venue.

It is not expected that these awards will simply be given annually but rather when candidates fill the necessary requirements. Recipients need not have studied at Buckinghamshire New University.

2010 – Pauline Smith

2010 – James Lloyd

2011 – Trevor Nicholls

2011 – Andy Smith

2011 – Tom Foy

2012 – Will Hoskin

2013 – Ash Coles

2013 – Kay Corden

2014 – Brian Tranter

2014 – Derek Godfrey

2014 – Naomi Franco

2015 – Ruth Farwell

2015 – Matt Gilbert

2015 – Ross McLaughlin

2016 – Stuart Norton

2016 – Lauren Troiano

2017 – Wendy Lumley

2017 – Ruth Gunstone

2017 – Joe Collins

2017 – Jenny Wade

2018 – Noel Cornford

2019 - Ian Hunter

2019 - Greg Pike